Opened in 1899 as the Lyceum in Eccles, This iconic Theatre was designed as a home for Shakespearian performances. But with the advent of music hall it very quickly became home to variety shows changing ownership and names in 1907 when it became the Crown Theatre.
In 1932 the 2,500 capacity theatre was converted into a cinema but in 1963 it went the way of many such buildings and became a bingo hall. A section of the theatre was demolished before closing forever.
The site has been closed since the 1980s and was listed in 2003 and further added to the Theatre’s trust at Risk list in 2012.
The once stunning proscenium arch inside the theatre depicted Shakespeare’s Seven Ages of Man but stained glass windows of poets and playwrights installed by the original owner in his bid to educate the poor were removed during a refit several decades ago and sent to America.
In 2013 fire crew were called to an arson attack on the building which effected the first and second floor balconies.
Planning permission was given in 2005 – and again in 2008 – for partial demolition (retaining the facade) and development of apartments behind. These works have not been started, and the building remains empty and increasingly derelict.